World’s Best Golfers Ready To Battle For CP Women’s Open Title

Golf Canada in partnership with Canadian Pacific (CP) announced today the final field of competitors set to challenge for the 2017 CP Women’s Open taking placeAugust 21-27.

Defending champion Ariya Jutanugarn, world no. 1 So Yeon Ryu and three-time winner Lydia Ko along with Canadian sensation and hometown favourite Brooke Henderson of Smiths Falls, Ont., highlight the 156-player field competing at Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club.

With one of the strongest fields on the LPGA Tour, Canada’s National Women’s Open Championship will feature 22 of the top 25, 44 of the top 50 and 92 of the top 100 players on the LPGA Tour’s Official Money List.

The field will also have a strong Solheim Cup presence as 19 of 24 competitors in this week’s biennial U.S. versus Europe contest have confirmed their intention to compete in Canada’s capital city.

Past CP Women’s Open champion Suzann Pettersen will lead 10 of 12 Team Europe competitors back to Canada following this week’s Solheim Cup in Des Moines, Iowa. Ranked no. 33 on the LPGA Money List, Pettersen will be joined by fellow European team members Anna Nordqvist (no. 20); Carlota Ciganda (no. 22); Jodi Ewart Shadoff (no. 23); Karine Icher (no. 36); Caroline Masson (no. 39); Charley Hull (no. 47); Madelene Sagstrom (no. 51); Emily Pedersen (no. 75); and Mel Reid (no. 95).

A trio of former CP Women’s Open champions – Cristie Kerr (2006), Michelle Wie (2010) and Brittany Lincicome (2011) – will lead Team USA to Ottawa. Kerr (no. 10), Wie (no. 12) and Lincicome (no. 27) will be joined by teammates Danielle Kang (no. 11); Stacy Lewis (no. 18); Austin Ernst (no. 32); Angel Yin (no. 41); Brittany Lang (no. 63); and Paula Creamer (no. 78).

Ottawa Hunt will challenge 10 past CP Women’s Open champions including Jutanugarn (2016), Ko (2012, 2013 & 2015), Ryu (2014), Lincicome (2011), Wie (2010), Pettersen (2009), Kerr (2006), Karrie Webb (1999) and Laura Davies (1996), along with Katherine Kirk who won in 2008 when Ottawa Hunt last hosted the stars of the LPGA Tour. 

“We are thrilled to welcome the world’s best to Ottawa as the CP Women’s Open returns to our nation’s capital to coincide with the Canada 150 celebration,” said Golf Canada’s Chief Championships Officer, Bill Paul. “The CP Women’s Open will feature a strong LPGA Tour field along with the very best rising talents in Canadian and international golf. Ottawa area golf fans are sure to be treated to an unbelievable showcase of world-class golf.”

Smiths Falls, Ont., native Brooke Henderson, an honorary member of host Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club and a CP ambassador who is no. 5 on the LPGA Money List, leads a strong Canadian LPGA Tour contingent. Joining Henderson are Tour regulars Alena Sharp of Hamilton, Maude-Aimee LeBlanc of Sherbrooke, Que., Anne-Catherine Tanguay of Quebec City, Jennifer Ha of Calgary, Augusta James of Bath, Ont. and Samantha Richdale of Kelowna, B.C., along with fellow CP ambassador and Canadian Golf Hall of Fame member Lorie Kane of Charlottetown.

Brittany Marchand of Orangeville, Ont., who picked up her first Symetra Tour victory earlier this month at the PHC Classic, will also be in the field competing on a tournament exemption.

All four members of Golf Canada’s National Amateur Team will be competing, including Ottawa native Grace St. Germain, Jaclyn Lee of Calgary, Naomi Ko of Victoria, B.C., and dual citizen Maddie Szeryk of London, Ont. Tanguay, James and Ha are also members of Golf Canada’s Young Pro Squad.