New Music Friday: Van William Releases ‘The Revolution

Van William, best known for the subversive, sparkling artistry he brought to his former acclaimed indie outfits, Port O’Brien and WATERS, has released his first ever solo work, The Revolution EP today via Fantasy Records.

“As a writer and singer, I’ve never been able to be that subtle with my songs,” explained William. “I grew up on Fugazi and Plastic Ono Band, The Lonesome Crowded West, andOn The Beach. Songs that scream hooks from deep down and get into every crevasse of your ear canals. It sounds cliché as fuck, especially when inserted right in the middle of a press release, but it’s also very true: this is it. You might hate it or love it, but this is what I can do and need to share. These songs sound exactly like I feel – restless, reeling, heartbroken and pissed about whatever this country is, and ready to burst.”

Recorded in Stinson Beach, CA, all of the songs on The Revolution EP were co-produced by Van William.  Key contributors include: drummer, Griffin Goldsmith (Dawes); bassist, Chris Chu (the Morning Benders); keyboardist Tam Visher; co-producer, Brian Phillips; and Klara Söderberg and Johanna Söderberg (First Aid Kit).

Always the creative force throughout various musical incarnations, Van’s newfound independence allowed room to roam in fresh and exciting ways.  With a wry, beautifully written turn of phrase, he’s always preferred to examine life’s (and love’s) dark underbelly but few songwriters make the therapeutics so much fun. This time out the songs carry a jagged, messier edge, artfully balancing his remarkable gift for dazzling melodies and unforgettable choruses.