Michael Monroe Releases New Album

In the leather-bound history of heartfelt rock ‘n’ roll, not only will Michael Monroe have at least one chapter all to himself, but his name will be colourfully threaded throughout, such has been his impact, his appeal and his ongoing never-surrender story; a powerful, inspirational tale told in detail on The Best – the first official collection of his (ongoing) solo musical exploits, featuring prime tracks from 1987 right up to 2017 –out today.

“This album is a great representation of my 30-year solo career, including four songs from the Little Steven-produced, Demolition 23, album, which has been unavailable for over 20 years, plus some special rarities and previously unreleased bonus tracks,” comments Michael.

Icon, song-writer, multi-instrumentalist, media personality, flamboyant force of nature and one of rock’s most celebrated and uber-kinetic front-men; Michael has been a name and a (much-photographed) face on the scene since 1979 when he played a central role in the formation of Hanoi Rocks – legendary Finnish glam-punk heroes who came within a rolling paper’s width of taking the world by glitter-storm.

Were it not for cruel and fickle fate, Hanoi – who disbanded for the first time in 1985, then finally in 2009 – might have ended up as an arena act; but whatever obstacles were thrust in their path, they were never less than the real deal, and major names like Guns N’ Roses were ready to acknowledge their influence and their worth (G N’ R would go on to issue the European Hanoi catalogue in the US via their Uzi Suicide imprint).

Over his three-decades-plus in the spotlight, Michael has befriended and performed with a whole host of artists and acts, including Guns N’ Roses and Slash, Lemmy, Alice Cooper, Aerosmith, Little Steven, Ian Hunter. The front-man has shared stages and studios with them all, but since that first break-up of Hanoi in the mid-’80s, he’s essentially been pursuing his own path, and it’s this solo activity that forms the basis of The Best – almost two hours worth of career-spanning music, re-mastered by Svante Forsback and sequenced by the great man himself.

As well as key, high-profile numbers such as Dead, Jail Or Rock ‘N’ Roll (from his second solo album, 1989’s, Not Fakin’ It, the promo clip for which features an onstage cameo from Axl Rose) and ’78 (from 2011’s Sensory Overdrive, voted Album Of The Year by Classic Rock magazine), this two-CD set also showcases some ‘from the vaults’ moments for collectors and completists, with bonus tracks and previously unreleased songs strategically placed to make the journey both scenic and surprising.

There’s a couple of extra special tracks like It’s A Lie, sung as a duet with Stiv Bators (Dead Boys, Lords Of The New Church) back in 1985,” Michael continues, “and a never-before-released 2nd version of the Steppenwolf cover, Magic Carpet Ride, featuring Slash, left over from the Coneheads soundtrack project that Slash did with me in 1993. And since Slash has the biggest heart of gold in Rock‘n’Roll, he was kind enough to allow me to use it on this album. God bless him!”

Two other previously unreleased songs are Fist Fulla Dynamite and Simpletown – outakkes from the Blackout Stakes album (2015) – plus there’s the new single, One Foot Outta The Grave – an anthem of pure defiance – to bring things nicely up to date, showing Michael’s continued commitment to a genre (we’re talkin’ rock ‘n’ roll here, straight from the source!) he has both celebrated and driven forward with unbridled passion, energy and emotion, not to mention a natural front-cover flair.


1. Dead Jail Or Rock N Roll

2. Man With No Eyes

3. It’s A Lie (feat. Stiv Bators)

4. Nights Are So Long

5. Can’t Go Home Again

6. Nothin’s Alright

7. Hammersmith Palais

8. You Crucified Me

9. Deadtime Stories

10. Where’s The Fire John?

11. Make It Go Away

12. Life Gets You Dirty

13. Self Destruction Blues

14. Stranded

15. Telephone Bill’s All Mine


1. Trick Of The Wrist

2. ’78

3. All You Need

4. Ballad Of The Lower East Side

5. Eighteen Angels

6. Stained Glass Heart

7. Old King’s Road

8. Goin’ Down With The Ship

9. Keep Your Eye On You

10. One Foot Outta The Grave

11. Fist Fulla Dynamite

12. Simpletown

13. Get On

14. Magic Carpet Ride (feat. Slash)