Johnson Crook To Release Full-Length Album

Fresh on the heels of their harmony-rich roots-rock self-titled EP, Johnson Crook is thrilled to announce the release of their debut full-length record, aptly titled, The Album. Set for release on August 4th via Coalition Music, the album encapsulates a whirlwind initial two years of live gigs and recording sessions that began almost immediately after the members’ first encounter.

The group is also gearing up to release a video for their bluesy rock-and-roll track, Canada To Heartbreak, just in time for Canada’s 150th. To celebrate the release, fans can send the band their Canadian travel photos for a chance to win special prizes, while a grand prize winner will be selected, by fan vote, from the band’s top three picks. Submission details can be found here – the deadline is June 5th.

From the moment the members of Johnson Crook played together, they knew they not only had harmony in their voices, but a deep personal connection that made the idea of forming a group a foregone conclusion. What the quartet shares is a love of pure, honest music stemming from their small-town backgrounds. Drawing inspiration from groups like the Eagles and the Avett Brothers, each member of Johnson Crook contributes equally, injecting their unique personalities into the overall sound.

The band comments: “This album is a collection of 12 songs (whittled down from 25), written over the past three years – with themes ranging from love, heartache, longing and self-discovery. It was primarily recorded ‘live off the floor’ as it was important to us that the recording reflected the energy and passion of our live show. We are really proud of the results and have to give big thanks to our producer, Bill Bell. He was a true mentor and musical partner who helped us bring our vision to life.”

The album was produced by Bill Bell (Justin Nozuka, Tom Cochrane) and recorded at Metalworks Studios. Bell also introduced the band to his good friend and bandmate, Tom Cochrane. After a late-night jam session, Tom took a particular liking to one of Johnson Crook’s songs, Mr. Nobody, and agreed to be a guest vocalist on the track for the band’s record.

It’s almost impossible not to feel a connection to Johnson Crook’s music after first hearing it. Audiences across Canada can attest to that as well, something the band acknowledges has been crucial to their development. Expect to see the band in your town at some point in the wake of the album release. Every stop brings with it a story that could become a new song, and as a group founded on the principles of equality, Johnson Crook’s creative potential is limitless.

Johnson Crook is Noel Johnson (rhythm guitars/vocals), brothers Nathan (lead guitar/mandolin/vocals) and Trevor Crook (drums/vocals) and Jared Craig (bass/vocals).

1. Minnedosa
2. Mining For Freedom
3. Call Me Home
4. Mr. Nobody (feat. Tom Cochrane)
5. Feel Some Love
6. Old Crow
7. Down The River
8. Hardwired
9. Old School Rock & Roll
10. Shadows
11. Canada To Heartbreak
12. Desert Rose

June 17 – Burlington, ON – Sound of Music Festival
July 1 – Dauphin, MB – Dauphin Countryfest
July 6 – Cavendish, PE – Cavendish Beach Music Festival
July 14 – Toronto, ON – Budweiser County Fair
August 4 – Minnedosa, MB – Rockin’ The Fields of Minnedosa
August 6 – Springwater, ON – Kempenfest
August 16 – Nestor Falls, ON – Moose & Fiddle Music Festival