This Day In Sports History: The Dream Team Wins Gold

25 years ago today the USA Men’s Olympic Basketball team featuring Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Larry Bird won the Gold Medal at the Barcelona Olympics.. they were also know as the “Dream Team.”

August 8th 1992 marked the first time NBA Players were allowed to participate in the Summer Olympic games. The roster was unbelievable:  Charles Barkley, Larry Bird, Clyde Drexler, Patrick Ewing,Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Christian Laettner, Karl Malone, Chris Mullin, Scottie Pippen, David Robinson and John Stockton.

Here are a few NBA USA Olympic milestones since 1992:

August 25, 2003
Allen Iverson scores 28 points in 23 minutes, setting a new USA Olympic Qualifying single game record for scoring. His performance helps Team USA annihilate Canada, 111-71, in the FIBA Americas Olympic Qualifying Tournament.

August 27, 2004
The USA basketball team loses to Argentina, 89-81, dropping USA basketball from gold medal contention for the first time since NBA players were allowed to participate in the Summer Olympic games.

August 28, 2004
The USA basketball team defeats Lithuania, 104-96, to capture the bronze medal in the 2004 Summer Olympics.

August 23, 2006
Carmelo Anthony sets the U.S. national team individual scoring record in an international game with 35 points against Italy in the FIBA World Championship tournament. This record was previously held by Kenny Anderson, who scored 34 points in a 1990 game.

August 24, 2008
The USA basketball team — the Redeem Team — drops Spain in a closer than the score indicates final, 118-107, to bring the gold back to US basketball after a disappointing bronze medal showing in 2004. Team USA was led by Kobe Bryant, LeBron James and Dwyane Wade.