Crosby Named Conn Smythe Winner

Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby was named the 2017 Conn Smythe Trophy winner. Awarded to “the most valuable player to his team in the playoffs,” Crosby was selected the winner in a vote by a panel of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Crosby led the 2017 Stanley Cup Final in scoring (1-6-7) and finished second in scoring during the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs with 27 points (8-19- 27).

Crosby, who also won the 2016 Conn Smythe Trophy, becomes just the third back-to-back winner of the award, which was first handed out in 1965. The other consecutive winners of the Conn Smythe Trophy are Mario Lemieux (1991, 1992) and Bernie Parent (1974, 1975). Crosby becomes just the sixth player to win multiple Conn Smythes, with the other multiple winners including Lemieux and Parent, Patrick Roy (3, in 1986, 1993 and 2001), Bobby Orr (1970 and 1972), and Wayne Gretzky (1985 and 1988). He also joins Jonathan Toews as the only active players to have captained three Stanley Cup winning teams. Crosby has already won the Rocket Richard Trophy this season and is a Hart Memorial Trophy finalist.

All-time Conn Smythe Trophy Winners
2017 Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2016 Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2015 Duncan Keith, Chicago
2014 Justin Williams, Los Angeles
2013 Patrick Kane, Chicago
2012 Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles
2011 Tim Thomas, Boston
2010 Jonathan Toews, Chicago
2009 Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh
2008 Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit
2007 Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim
2006 Cam Ward, Carolina
2004 Brad Richards, Tampa Bay
2003 Jean-Sebastien Giguere, Anaheim
2002 Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2001 Patrick Roy, Colorado
2000 Scott Stevens, New Jersey
1999 Joe Nieuwendyk, Dallas
1998 Steve Yzerman, Detroit
1997 Mike Vernon, Detroit
1996 Joe Sakic, Colorado
1995 Claude Lemieux, New Jersey
1994 Brian Leetch, NY Rangers
1993 Patrick Roy, Montreal
1992 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh
1991 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh