Blue Jays Donaldson Named Hank Aaron Award Finalist

Major League Baseball today announced the finalists for the 2017 Hank Aaron Awards, which has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999. For the eighth year in a row, Baseball fans have a say in the winners of this prestigious award. Fans can vote for their American and National League selections online at and the 30 Club sites through October 13.

Six former Aaron Award winners are amongst this year’s finalists: Mike Trout, Josh Donaldson, Paul Goldschmidt, Joey Votto, Giancarlo Stanton and Buster Posey. Fifteen finalists were named All-Stars this year and overall the 30 finalists combined to have been named All-Stars 65 times. The group also features 19 players under the age of 30, with 8 aged 25 or younger. The finalists for the 2017 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League
Baltimore Orioles: Jonathan Schoop
Boston Red Sox: Mookie Betts (@mookiebetts)
Chicago White Sox: José Abreu
Cleveland Indians: José Ramírez (@MrLapara)
Detroit Tigers: Nicholas Castellanos
Houston Astros: Jose Altuve (@JoseAltuve27)
Kansas City Royals: Eric Hosmer (@TheRealHos35)
Los Angeles Angels: Mike Trout (@MikeTrout)
Minnesota Twins: Brian Dozier (@BrianDozier)
New York Yankees: Aaron Judge (@TheJudge44)
Oakland Athletics: Khris Davis
Seattle Mariners: Nelson Cruz (@ncboomstick23)
Tampa Bay Rays: Logan Morrison (@CupOfLoMo)
Texas Rangers: Elvis Andrus (@ElvisandrusSS1)
Toronto Blue Jays: Josh Donaldson (@BringerOfRain20)

National League
Arizona Diamondbacks: Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves: Freddie Freeman (@FreddieFreeman5)
Chicago Cubs: Anthony Rizzo (@ARizzo44)
Cincinnati Reds: Joey Votto
Colorado Rockies: Charlie Blackmon (@Chuck_Nazty)
Los Angeles Dodgers: Cody Bellinger (@Cody_Bellinger)
Miami Marlins: Giancarlo Stanton (@Giancarlo818)
Milwaukee Brewers: Travis Shaw (@travis_shaw21)
New York Mets: Michael Conforto (@mconforto8)
Philadelphia Phillies: Odúbel Herrera (@odubelherrera1)
Pittsburgh Pirates: Andrew McCutchen (@TheCUTCH22)
San Diego Padres: Jose Pirela (@JosePirela12)
San Francisco Giants: Buster Posey (@BusterPosey)
St. Louis Cardinals: Tommy Pham (@TphamLV)
Washington Nationals: Ryan Zimmerman

Also for the eighth consecutive year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players, led by Hank Aaron himself, will also vote on the winners of the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball.

The panel of Hall of Famers include Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers – who combined for 17,010 hits, 8,844 RBI and 2,275 home runs – have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Continuing through October 13, fans have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2017 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 113th World Series.