2017 Tom Longboat Award Winners Announced

Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame announced the 2017 winners of the prestigious Tom Longboat Award.
James Lavallee, a member of the Junior National Canoe/Kayak team, is named the male Aboriginal athlete of year and Joy Spearchief-Morris, an Academic All-Canadian student athlete, is named female Aboriginal athlete of year. The Tom Longboat Awards were established in 1951 to recognize Aboriginal athletes for their outstanding contributions to sport in Canada. The Awards provide a forum for acknowledging the growth and strength of the Aboriginal sport movement in Canada and its’ tremendous impact on sport development from community level participation to elite level competition.
“The Aboriginal Sport Circle is very pleased to recognize these two outstanding athletes and their contributions to sport and community development. We celebrate the positive role models they represent both for our youth and leaders of tomorrow” commented Heather Kaulbach, Executive Director Aboriginal Sport Circle.
The two national recipients will be recognized at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame’s 2017 Induction Celebrations on November 9. Tom Longboat was inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame in 1955 for Athletics. Alwyn Morris, who helped to establish the Aboriginal Sport Circle and Honoured Member of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame inducted in 2000 for Canoe / Kayak Sprint, will be in attendance at the 2017 Induction Celebrations to help celebrate the award winners.